WeOcean Project

OUR PARTNERS

Jean-Michel Cousteau (President, Jean-Michel Cousteau’s Ocean Futures Society)

” It is with great pleasure that I write this letter of support for Leslie Bissey and her WeOcean Project. Leslie is an exceptional environmental educator and dedicated teacher who has been sharing her knowledge and passion of the ocean with students and adults for years. She was an exceptional naturalist for Ocean Futures Society’s Ambassadors of the Environment program in French Polynesia for several years. Her newest project, WeOcean has created an important link between students, environmentalists, stakeholders and the general public in hopes of making the ocean more familiar and accessible with the ultimate goal to better understand and protect our oceans.

Since first being thrown overboard by my late father, Jacques Yves Cousteau at the age of seven back in 1945, I have been compelled to explore, to discover, to understand the secrets of the sea. My father use to always say, ‘people protect what they love.’ But I continue these thoughts by saying how can we protect what we do not yet understand? Ironically, as we have explored more, learned more about ecological processes within the ocean and made great discoveries of its vast diversity of life in just the past 75 years, we have also degraded, overfished and changed the basic chemistry of the ocean faster than any time in recorded history. We now know the ocean sustains all life on this planet; but we are threatening the very fabric of what holds our rich tapestry of biodiversity together.

Using her love for the ocean and her desire to teach about the importance of a healthy environment, Leslie inspires students to be critical thinkers about how they perceive a sustainable future. We need creative, optimistic, inspirational people who are using their talents to engage the future generation to use all means of creativity to care for our blue planet. Leslie is one such talented environmental leader who is a great inspiration, sharing her love for the environment to inspire people to communicate the urgent need for action. She knows when people see and feel the beauty of the undersea world, they understand in a profound way, the need to take care of our water planet.

They are already sailing with us !

Contact us !

weoceanproject@gmail.com

WeOcean Project

ADHESIONS ET PARTENAIRES

Le mot de notre parrain, Jean-Michel Cousteau:

« C’est avec grand plaisir que j’écris cette lettre de soutien pour Leslie Bissey et WeOcean Project. Leslie est une éducatrice à l’environnement qui a su partager et transmettre ses connaissances et sa passion pour l’océan avec des jeunes et des adultes dans le cadre de notre programme d’ ambassadeurs de l’environnement de la société Ocean Futures en Polynésie française. WeOcean Project va permettre de créer un lien important entre les étudiants, les écologistes, les parties prenantes et le grand public dans l’espoir de rendre l’océan plus familier et plus accessible avec le but ultime de mieux comprendre et protéger nos océans.

Depuis que mon père, Jacques Yves Cousteau, m’a poussé dans l’eau à l’âge de sept ans en 1945, j’ai été obligé d’explorer, de découvrir et de comprendre les secrets de la mer. Mon père avait l’habitude de dire: «les gens protègent ce qu’ils aiment». Comment pouvons-nous protéger ce que nous ne comprenons pas encore? En l’explorant davantage, nous comprenons mieux les processus écologiques de l’Océan et faisons de grandes découvertes de la diversité de vie qui s’y trouve.  Au cours des 75 dernières années, nous avons également dégradé, surexploité et changé la chimie de base de l’Océan plus rapidement que jamais enregistré dans l’histoire. Nous savons maintenant que l’océan maintient l’équilibre de la vie sur cette planète, mais en menaçons l’essence même.

En utilisant sa passion pour l’océan et son désir d’enseigner l’importance d’un environnement sain, Leslie inspire les étudiants à être des penseurs critiques sur la façon dont ils perçoivent un avenir durable. Nous avons besoin de personnes créatives, optimistes et inspirantes qui utilisent leurs talents pour engager les générations futures à utiliser tous les moyens de créativité pour s’occuper de notre planète bleue. Leslie est d’une grande inspiration, partageant son amour pour l’environnement afin d’inspirer les gens à communiquer le besoin urgent d’action. Elle sait quand les gens voient et ressentent la beauté du monde sous-marin et comprennent ainsi de manière profonde, la nécessité de prendre soin de notre planète aquatique. »

Ils naviguent déjà à nos côtés !

Rejoignez une équipe jeune et dynamique!